Sam’s sundae

In trying to keep with my goal of trying all 50 desserts on 7×7’s Big Sweet list, I stopped by Bi-Rite the other night after eating at Little Star Pizza, which by the way, has incredible deep dish pizza.  Even though I was already stuffed, I ordered Sam’s Sundae.  The sundae is made up of two scoops of chocolate ice cream, bergamot olive oil, sea salt, and a giant dollop of whipped cream.  It sounds bizarre and I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical before taking my first bite.  However, it is quite delicious.  Besides the fact that their chocolate ice cream is fantastic, the bergamot olive oil is amazing.  I would like to drizzle some of that bergamot olive oil on everything.  It has a very familiar taste and after doing a little research, I found out that bergamot is in earl grey tea.  I could have done with a little less sea salt, but it definitely adds to the flavor.  The whipped cream has a stiff consistency, which I like, and it definitely tames the flavor of the rest of the sundae.  I can’t wait until my next trip to Bi-Rite.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

