Kentucky buttercake

When I ate at Gary Danko, I had their Louisiana buttercake for dessert and it was incredible.  So of course, I went on a hunt for a recipe for buttercake and I found one for Kentucky buttercake, which I hoped was similar to Louisiana buttercake.  I found the recipe on Allrecipes and it was very highly rated and reviewed.

The recipe was very simple, and actually, a bit abnormal from other cake recipes I’ve tried, in terms of technique.  You mix together all the dry ingredients and then you put all the wet ingredients in at one time, and mix again.

The problems began after the cake came out of the oven.  According to the recipe, you are supposed to poke holes into the cake right when it comes out of the oven.   So I did just that, using a fork.  Then I poured the butter sauce over the cake slowly, but I feel like the cake did not absorb the sauce very well.  Then when the cake cooled, I tried to flip it onto my cake holder.  But of course, it didn’t want to come out.  I had sprayed PAM on it and had floured it, but still it was very stubborn.  I ran a knife along the edge and it still refused to budge.  This was when I resorted to slamming the cake down to see if it would come out.  Finally it did, minus two large chunks that remained in the pan.

I thought the cake tasted kind of dry and the butter sauce was not absorbed throughout the cake, as I had hoped it would.  I’m wondering if I need to use something that would make bigger holes in the cake so the sauce gets absorbed.

 

Kentucky buttercake

 

On a side note, I found this recipe online for Tartine’s morning buns.  I was very excited to find this because the recipe is not in Tartine’s recipe book.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

