Trip to Tartine

I realized that I better get going on my 50 Treats mission, so I went to Tartine the other day when I was in San Francisco.   On 7×7’s 50 Treats list at #1 is the Lemon Cream Tart from Tartine.  I would say that it definitely deserves a spot on the list.  On top of the tart is a large dollop of whipped cream.  The whipped cream itself was pretty plain tasting so I tried to avoid eating it, since it was unnecessary calories.   However, when I started just eating the lemon tart part, it was too strong of a lemon flavor.  Thus, I decided to eat the whipped cream along with the rest of the tart, hoping that it would mellow out the lemon-tartness.  And it did!  The huge dollop of whipped cream actually turned out to be a necessary part of the tart, and not just a garnish.

Lemon cream tart

Of course, I couldn’t just get one treat from Tartine, so my mom and I also bought a few other items.  We got the double chocolate croissant, which I heard about from the Food Network show “The Best Thing I Ever Ate.”  The croissant was really good and the chocolate they use (I think it’s Valrhona) is incredibly strong and on the more bitter side.  People who don’t like dark chocolate probably would not be a fan of this croissant.

Double chocolate croissant

We also got the chocolate chip walnut cookie.  The cookie was good, but I did not think it was amazing.  If you are a fan of chewy, soft cookies, then this cookie is not for you.  I also did not like the walnuts so much.  I think I would have preferred pecans in them.

Chocolate chip walnut cookie

I also got the morning bun, because it is #8 on 7×7’s Top 100 foods to eat in SF.  The morning bun was incredible.  It was flaky, sweet (but not too sweet), and had the perfect amount of cinnamon flavor.  It was also sprinkled with sugar.

Morning bun

Finally, we got their lemon-almond cake.  It was delicious.  The top is sprinkled with powdered sugar and the sides have a citrus glaze.  They added in poppyseeds into the cake, which gives it a nice appearance.  The cake itself was moist and soft.  This recipe is in Tartine’s recipe book, so I will definitely have to try making it sometime soon.

Almond lemon cake

Of all the things we tried, I liked the morning bun and the almond lemon cake the most.  Oh, and in case you were wondering, no, we did not eat everything in one sitting.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Trip to Tartine

  1. nuree

    LOVE tartine! 🙂 i recently was up in the Mission and stopped by to buy a croissant for Johno and all i wanted to do was eat it myself! 😦 yea made the mistake of buying only one….. if you ever get the chance to go again, i recommend their croque monsieurs (open faced sandwich). amazingly delicious. 🙂 their breads are soooo good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

