Red velvet cupcakes

I recently made red velvet cupcakes for a birthday party.  I decided to try the recipe from Bakerella which you can find here.  I did some research on red velvet cupcakes and some recipes require butter whereas other recipes call for vegetable oil.  In the past, the recipes I’ve used have required butter but Bakerella’s recipe uses vegetable oil so I thought I’d give it a shot.  I altered a couple of things in the recipe.  I used an extra teaspoon of cocoa powder and I only used one ounce of red (gel) food coloring.

For the frosting, I did not use the recipe from Bakerella.  Here’s the recipe I used for the cream cheese frosting:

  • 1                  8 oz. pacakage of cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1/2              cup (1 stick) unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 1                  tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 – 3     cups powdered sugar

Cream the butter and cream cheese together on medium speed for about 2 minutes.  Add in the vanilla extract and beat for about another minute.  Then add in the powdered sugar incrementally.  I add in the sugar a 1/2 cup at a time, beat together, then repeat.

The texture of the cupcakes turned out well, although I think that I like red velvet cupcakes that have butter rather than oil.  I feel like I can taste the oil too much, although the oil does make the cupcakes moist.

Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, topped with a chocolate covered espresso bean

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

