Rum extract and brownies

As I mentioned before, I’m in the midst of a baking project where I bake something daily.  Yesterday was Project 11.   So for yesterday’s project, I found a recipe for “The Greatest Brownie Ever” from the Buttercup Bakery cookbook.  Given the name of the recipe, I had to give it a try.  The recipe calls for ¼ teaspoon of rum extract.  I figured Whole Foods would have it, but they didn’t.  Neither did any of the other grocery stores I visited.   The fact that I only needed ¼ teaspoon made me want to omit the rum.  But there had to be a reason it was in the recipe.  So I kept searching.  When I was in Williams-Sonoma, I asked one of the employees about rum extract and he told me how to make it.  He explained it to me with such authority that I figured he must know what he was talking about.  In a small saucepan, I heated ¼ cup of rum (I used Myers’s Rum) over low heat.  Then I reduced it by 50 percent so that I had (approximately) 1/8 cup of rum left.  Pretty simple.

The rest of the brownie-making process was easy and straightforward.  When the oven timer beeped for me to take out the brownies, I was a little worried.  The brownies had an odd-looking texture on top, almost like they were not done.  I double-checked the recipe to see if I had baked it at the right temperature and I had.  At this point, even if I had done something incorrectly, there was nothing I could do.  So I let the brownies cool in the pan overnight (like the recipe suggested).  When I tasted the brownies this morning, I was pleasantly surprised.  The brownies have a texture unlike most other brownies I’ve eaten.  They’re crumbly and airy, but at the same time very moist and chocolatey.

Here’s a picture of the brownies.

Brownies!

Also, my oven handle came off yesterday.   I think my oven is trying to tell me it’s tired.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Rum extract and brownies

  1. Mom

    The brownies are very smooth, must be the rum.

Leave a Reply

